Released back in March of this year, Styx: Shards of Darkness was a cause for delight around these parts due to its inclusion of two player online co-op. Its predecessor was already held in high regard, so co-op fans were understandably excited for a chance to experience the stealth-focused game with a friend. One thing seemed to be holding it back, though - a lack of multiplayer save functionality.
Luckily, developer Cyanide Studio was receptive to the oft-cited request, and they've now added the function into the game. It has a few minor caveats, which you can see in the patch notes below.
- Only the Host can save the game, with the following limitations:
Only Autosaves & Manual Saves (The “Save” option from the Pause Menu) are available.
- Quicksaves (F5 / D-Pad Right) are not available.
- The Client cannot save.
- The Host cannot save if the Client is performing an action like Jumping or Killing.
- When both players die, the Host can choose which save file to load. At the end of the Loading Screen, the Client will be in Spectator Mode and has to spawn.
- Every time the Host saves, the save file is sent to the Client which stores it locally. This means:
The Client can store locally up to 3 Multiplayer save files.
The Client can later use this Multiplayer save file in Solo. However, when loaded, the Client will always start at the beginning of the Sector (though their character progression and inventory will stay intact).
If the Client leaves the Host’s game but decides to come back shortly after, their Profile choice will be overriden by their local Multiplayer save. This is due to the assumption that the player will want to use their latest save if they decide to come back to a game they just left.
It's exciting news, obviously, so let's hope it encourages more gamers to check out an extremely solid sneaking experience.