Power Gig: Rise of the SixString

  • Couch Co-Op: 3 Players
  • + Co-Op Campaign
PowerGig: Rise of the Six String Brings Pro Guitar Before Rock Band 3
News by 1

PowerGig: Rise of the Six String Brings Pro Guitar Before Rock Band 3

As we mentioned earlier today, there's quite a few music games coming out this fall.  One game though that's doing something a bit different is PowerGig: Rise of the Six String.  Like Rock Band 3 and its pro mode, PowerGig is looking to add something to a stalling genre by introducing ways to learn how to really play the instruments.  Best of all, it's out now.

The core learning mode in PowerGig is called chording.  In it the game teaches players how to hold their fingers on the guitar to play actual chords.  It won't make you a rockstar, but you will get the basics down of learning to play.  The guitar also doubles as an actual working guitar that you can plug into an amp - that means your $170 investment isn't just for one game, you'll get a real working instrument out of the deal.

But guitar isn't the only mode of play in the game, there's full co-op support for three players with lead guitar, drums and vocals.  This can be done through any of the game's modes including a story based mode where players can choose from six characters to overthrow the oppressive headliner.

Speaking of drums, there's an optional drum kit with the title that is a bit different.  It's called "air drums" and it's exactly what you think.  You won't be hitting physical drums, instead a unit sits down at your fit and you can drum in mid air - with the game able more closely mimic kits of real drummers.  We're just as skeptical as you.

Finally a music game isn't a music game without the music, luckily PowerGig has some big headliners like Eric Clapton, Dave Mathews, and Kid Rock.  We've got the full track list below.  

PowerGig is also compatible with existing Rock Band and Guitar Hero instruments, so if the pro stuff doesn't interest you, you can still rock out to some Eric Clapton on your Xbox 360 or PlayStation 3.

The full track list for PowerGig: Rise of the Six Strings:


  • Eric Clapton - Layla
  • Eric Clapton - Lay Down Sally
  • Eric Clapton - Let It Rain
  • Dave Matthews Band - Funny The Way It Is
  • Dave Matthews Band - Tripping Billies
  • Dave Matthews Band - Why I Am
  • Kid Rock - All Summer Long
  • Kid Rock - Rock 'N' Roll Jesus
  • Kid Rock - Son of Detroit
  • John Mayer - No Such Thing
  • Jane’s Addiction - Been Caught Stealing
  • No Doubt - Platinum Blonde Life
  • Ozzy Osbourne - A.V.H.
  • Queens of the Stone Age - You Think I Ain't Worth a Dollar, But I Feel Like a Millionaire
  • Smashing Pumpkins - Cherub Rock
  • Disturbed - The Night
  • Rage Against the Machine - Bombtrack
  • Stevie Ray Vaughan - Couldn't Stand The Weather
  • Black Sabbath - The Devil Cried
  • Stone Temple Pilots - Plush
  • Living Colour - Cult of Personality
  • John Mayer - Who Do You Think I Was
  • Snow Patrol - Hands Open
  • Three Days Grace - Break
  • Paramore - Ignorance
  • Silversun Pickups - Substitution
  • The Offspring - You’re Gonna Go Far Kid
  • The Black Label Society - Retribution
  • Breaking Benjamin - Breath
  • The Tragically Hip - New Orleans Is Sinking
  • The Used - Blood on My Hands
  • Mastodon - Crack the Skye
  • A Perfect Circle - The Hollow
  • Buckcherry - Tired of You
  • Firewind - Head Up High
  • The Black Keys - Strange Times
  • Flyleaf - Again
  • Godsmack - Awake
  • Incubus - Wish You Were Here
  • Jet - She's A Genius
  • The Hives - Tick Tick Boom
  • John Mayer - Crossroads
  • Bad Religion - I Want to Conquer the World
  • Korn - Hold On
  • The Academy Is... - His Girl Friday
  • Lacuna Coil - Spellbound
  • MuteMath - Chaos
  • New Found Glory - Listen to Your Friends
  • P.O.D. - Alive
  • Puddle of Mudd - Blurry
  • Rise Against - Paper Wings
  • Sick Puppies - You're Going Down
  • The Donnas - Fall Behind Me
  • The Get Up Kids - Martyr Me
  • Idlewild - Reader and Writers
  • Surfer Blood - Swim
  • Channels - Chivaree
  • Superdrag - Aspartame
  • Envy on the Coast - Headfirst in the River
  • Damiera - Silvertongue
  • A Cursive Memory - Everything
  • The Hounds Below - She's Alchemy
  • A Love Like PI - Innocent Man
  • The Willowz - I Know
  • I See Stars - Comfortably Confused
  • The Paris Riots - Hotel of Infidels
  • School Boy Humor - Camera Shy
  • So Many Dynamos - Artifacts of Sound
  • Taxpayer - When You When Young
  • The Fatal Flaw - Don't Start Believing